Special Session on

Advances in Time-Sensitive Communication Technologies

Many applications are characterized by timing constraints, such as in vehicular domain, automation systems and smart manufacturing domains. In such applications not only the correctness of functionalities is necessary, but also the timing requirements should be satisfied. These applications are commonly called time-sensitive applications. Time-sensitive applications may require periodic execution with low latency and low jitter to respond to environmental events. To support these requirements several communication technologies have been proposed, mostly ended up to the process of standardization. However, there are still challenges related to applying different technologies in various applications, such as design issues, improving performance, using technologies in cross-domains, interoperability and integration of technologies. The focus of this special session is on these issues and present the latest advancements in the area of time-sensitive communication technologies. Authors are invited to contribute with their high quality papers representing original and novel techniques, algorithms and experiences with simulation or practical case studies. The topics within the context of this special session are as following (but not limited to).

  • Software defined networking (SDN)
  • network function virtualization (NFV)
  • Time sensitive network (TSN)
  • Time slotted channel hopping (TSCH)
  • 5G technologies
  • Fog/Edge computing/networking
  • IoT technologies for time-sensitive applications
  • Domain-specific solutions in communication
  • Security vulnerabilities in time-sensitive technologies
  • Cross-technology communication for smart manufacturing


  • M. Daneshtalab, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • S. Mubeen, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • M. Ashjaei, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • H. Fotouhi, Mälardalen University, Sweden

Programme Committee:

  • Maryam Vahabi (Mälardalen University, Sweden)
  • Matthias Becker (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Luis Almeida (University of Porto, Portugal)
  • Reza Malekian (Malmö University, Sweden)
  • Jean-Luc Scharbarg (Universite de Toulouse-IRIT-INP/ENSEEIHT, France)
  • Svetlana Girs (Mälardalen University, Sweden)
  • Guillermo Rodriguez-Navas (Nokia Bell Labs, Israel)
  • Voica Gavrilut (Comcores ApS, Denmark)
  • Hana Khamfroush (University of Kentuchy, USA)
  • Ricardo Severino (University of Porto, Portugal)
  • Pedro Santos (University of Porto, Portugal)
  • Stefano Tennina (University of L'Aquila, Italy)


Submission of Papers:

Prospective authors should submit a full paper not exceeding 8 pages in the Conference proceedings format (double-column, 10pt) to the conference main track or to the Special Sessions through the EasyChair conference submission system with an indication of the main track or the name of the Special Session.


Double-blind review: the paper should not contain authors names and affiliations; in the reference list, references to the authors' own work entries should be substituted with the string "omitted for blind review”.

Publication: Proceedings will be published by Conference Publishing Services (CPS). All accepted papers will be included in the same volume, published by the Conference Publishing Services (CPS). The Final Paper Preparation and Submission Instructions will be published after the notification of acceptance. Authors of accepted papers are expected to register and present their papers at the Conference. Conference proceedings will be submitted to IEEE explore, CDSL, and for indexing among others, to DBLP, Scopus ScienceDirect, and ISI Web of Knowledge.

About Euromicro

Euromicro is an international scientific organization advancing sciences and applications of Information Technology and Microelectronics. A major focus is on organizing conferences and workshops in Computer Science and Computer Engineering. Euromicro is a non-profit association founded in 1974 and annual conferences have taken place in more than 20 countries all over Europe. Find out more